I never asked “why me”.  I always thought “better me”.

Today is one of those days that reinforces that.

We have a good friend whose girlfriend has been diagnosed with breast cancer.  I’ve never met her.  But through him I am able to help.  I can offer advice.  Help for nausea.  Advice on hair loss.  Disability is available.  It’s a reprieve.  Take it.  I have hats and beanies.  They are hers for the taking.

It feels good.

It feels right.

It feels like that year or so five years ago weren’t for naught.

I don’t pretend to know God’s plans.

I really have no credible idea why I am still here and others are not.

God knows.  He has vision.  He sees the big picture.

I know I’m the Cheese.

I know not everyone survives.

I know I may not always survive.

But I also know that I can help.

I offer hope.  I offer help.  I offer insight.

How can I run from that?

Who can really ask for more from life?

 

Cross-posted to Mothers With Cancer

6 Responses

  1. hi
    impreforming prayers over the phone..pls try my prayers
    sam

  2. “I offer hope”….you do offer hope! I l look at you …your diagnosis, your not straightforward, easy life, and yet you have determination ….and you have given me hope. You are here, you have survived….and so I just might survive too. Why not? I hope and pray…you have made it , maybe, just maybe, I will too…We need that us women, we really need women like you that have got through….to show us that life can be enjoyed, can be lived and stats are just that….stats!!! IWomen do get through.

    I would love to know that all is well with you….your writing is fiesty and full of hope and beautiful. I look forward to hearing your voice again. I would welcome the chance to communicate with you if ever you are able to email me.

    Go girl!! xxxx

  3. I have nominated you for the Very Inspirational Blog Award. Check it out here: http://anotheronewiththecancer.wordpress.com/2012/12/07/inspirational-blog-nomination-2/

  4. I just published a book that i believe a lot of your followers could benefit from its called Fitness for The Cure. You can download it from amazon. Here is the summary if anyone was interested. The story of one cancer patient’s survival against all odds. From stage III invasive breast cancer, with a 50% likelihood of a recurrence within two years—this after seven surgeries, aggressive chemo and radiation—a journey that explains a simple, unique alternative survival path built around the fundamentals of fitness that enabled her to blossom cancer free at the two year mark and maintain the success for eight years and counting.

    here is the link to Fitness for The Cure

    Also 25% goes to charity.

  5. Thinking of you and hoping all is well with your family.

  6. Thank you for your efforts to help others in healing ways that clinicians and healthy family/friends cannot. With respect and hope, Wendy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

