Not my pictures… just my kids

Here is just some blatant kid kandy.  I love my boys and I had their pics done yesterday by Kristy Meier of August Photography.  She does incredible work.  B is a photographer’s dream and the camera loves him. But D is a pain.

Photographing a blind child is no easy task.  They keep their heads bowed.  There is no eye contact with the camera which is huge.  Most important of all, they have never seen a picture nor do they have any idea what they or anyone else look like when they do X or Y.  So it is very difficult to give direction and have it understood.  For instance, when I ask D to bring his head up and smile for me I usually get this result.

While technically correct, not exactly the desired result, eh.   And I have the benefit of living with him and much, much more opportunity to get it right.

All the more impressive that Kristy managed, in one hour, to get decent pictures of him at all.  Here is a small sampling of her work.

Besides, they’re just good looking kids.  Doncha think?

3 Responses

  1. […] can read the rest of this blog post by going to the original source, here […]

  2. Gorgeous photos Stella – but then they are pretty cute boys!

  3. I can’t beleive how grown up our kids have gotten. I need to do more pictures , like you, to capture these wonderful stages of life.

Leave a Reply

