Of Childhood Rituals…

I got Danny’s pony pictures back from the preschool today. They are adorable. Is there ever a bad Pony Picture, though? Of course, I had to pull out Ben’s pony pictures from when he was 3 years old. They look nothing alike.

Ben was a smiling and blond – the quintessential Good Guy. Danny is solemn and dark. Not so much the Bad Guy as the Bad Boy. The cloudiness in his eyes gives them a smoldering, smokey look… if you can overlook the one that’s looking the wrong way, that is.

Ben on Nugget 2003 / Danny on Cupcake 2008

Hopalong Cassidy / Black Bart

I’m also struck by how sad Danny looks. And also, how good looking both my boys are (not that I’m biased or anything) even though they look completely different.

Am I the only Mom who sees a good picture of her kid and loves them that much more for it? Maybe I love them more in pictures than in person? I kid, of course. But they sure are quieter in photos…

Leave a Reply

