Running with the Big Dogs

He runs!

Danny runs!  Not with speed or skill.  Not even with any sort of grace.  But he runs.

After Ben’s baseball game tonight, Danny sat in the grass before the snack bar with the boys from Ben’s team and all their siblings.  In the shady cold of the setting sun he was just one of the kids.  He laughed loud and hard with the others when the talk turned to horse farts.  He rolled in the grass from side to side, over a hotdog and back again.  He laughed.  They laughed.  He pinned his brother to the grass.  They all laughed some more.  He was one of them.

Then all the boys ran off.

That’s usually when he turns to Daddy-O and I in frustration and anger.  We entertain him and he entertains us.  Adults are much more stationery than kids…

But tonight was different.  Danny called for them.  They were long gone across the outfield and up the stairs.  He called and called for Ben and his friends.  He asked me to take him to the boys.  “They’re running all around.” I said, “Are you going to run, too?  You’ll have to run if you want to play with them.”

“I want to run!”

“OK.  Let’s go!” and I grabbed his hand.  This is how we run.  We hold hands and lumber along at a slightly quicker and more jarring pace than normal.

Danny yelled and snatched away his hand.  “NO!  I want to run by myself!  BY MYSELF!  Make Ben watch me!”

And he did.  He ran with loose arms and a giant smile.  He ran straight across the outfield then staggered to the left, right, left and left again.  He paused to find the voices of parents and laughing kids then picked up his loping once again.  The girls joined him.  They ran backwards and called to him, this way and that.  They ran behind him urging him on as he chanted over and over, “I’m running!  I’m running!  Watch me run!”

I stood with the other parents and watched in amazement and beamed.

He ran with the big boys across the grass.  He begged to run after everyone else left.

Tonight Danny had enough of standing still, of waiting for the fun to come to him.  Tonight, he was just another one of the boys.

7 Responses

  1. Stella, I am tearing up at this great story. Thanks for sharing it!!! Praise God Danny is running!!! I can’t help smiling!!!

  2. Thank you so much for sharing this very special moment. I love you all . Kisses and hugs. I am still all wet eyed. I read it to the old man and he teared up also.

  3. What a moment! Goosebumps and shivers and, okay, a little teary-eyed – Go, Danny, Go!

  4. That is so exciting! Happy tears this morning! Thanks for sharing!

  5. That is such a special story! I can see it so clearly in my mind. Isn’t it wonderful when they make these accomplishments on their own? Thanks for writing.

    Are you still going to be walking? I would love to come and cheer you on. I live in Livermore. You can read my story here: http://www.caringbridge.org/visit/dianneduffy

    Take care.

    Dianne Duffy

    • Love your Christmas tree and love your dress more!!! I too never unsdnetard the stree around the Christmas. It is supposed to be a happy time instead turns into a chaos!

  6. I adore this. What an amazing day this must have been!

Leave a Reply

