What Makes Me Smile…

Look at me!  One day past my 2011 resolution and I’m already living up to my end of the bargain.  Go me! 

Today’s topic from The Daily Post is “Something that makes you smile.”  Gee… where to begin?  I could start with my family. There’s my Mom whose view of life is only a tad more warped than my own, and Daddy-O who is full of teasing and is really quite funny if I’m not taking him too seriously.  Of course my little man, Danny, keeps me in stitches constantly with his sweet, innocent and down right silly comments on just about everything (see the Favorite Quotes tab at the top of this blog).  Or Ben who is growing more serious by the day but makes me smile just thinking of his handsome face.  Or my bff who never fails to have me smiling just from her plain old understanding of me.  Or I could mention my co-workers who are beyond amusing.  Or Facebook that makes me grin from ear-to-ear on a daily basis.  To be completely honest, however, there is only one thing that amuses me beyond everything else.

Sadly, it’s snarking and sarcasm that really make me smile.  I know.  I know!  It’s not right or politically correct or even nice, but I love it just the same.  This is easily my biggest character flaw.  Last year I resolved to be a better person.  Heh!  That was a lost cause.  In the first week of 2010 I nearly severed my tongue for all the biting.  After a few weeks of pent up put-downs the dam simply broke.  There was no going back.  Truth be told, I wouldn’t have gone back if I could!  Sometimes, you just have to admit your faults and go with them.  😉

One Response

  1. Loving the new resolution – keep it up! I’m starting the new year with a WICKED cold (my first in over two years, I think I’m making up for lost time – thanks so much to my honey for sharing…) so I’m giving myself a couple extra days to get up to speed, but you’re inspiring me to jump in sooner rather than later. Not surprising, since you inspired me so much last year!

Leave a Reply

