What I worry about…

Hoo boy!  Today’s suggested topic from The Daily Post is “Are you stressed out?” Well, really… who isn’t stressed out these days?  If you’re not unemployed or under-employed or upside down in your house or already lost it you’re in the minority.  It seems like everyone is broke.  There are furloughs and lay-offs and foreclosures everywhere I look.

Daddy-O and I are working.  Thank you, God.  We are, however, trying to navigate the quagmire that is the Mortgage Loan Modification process.  They sure don’t make it easy but they do make it extra stressful so that’s something.  Heh.  Business has really picked up for Daddy-O in the last month or two so we’re starting to see a wee, tiny light at the end of the tunnel.  (Hopefully, it’s not a train.)  But that is not where my stress lies.

Danny needs scleral shells.  I’ve known about it for a while now but life always seems to get away from me.  When I got his school pictures back in November I realized how imperative it is that we start the process of getting his prosthetic eyes.  His eye socket seems to be dropping.  His face is becoming asymmetrical.  Not. Good.  What’s really not good, though, is the cost associated with the shells.

 

Danny's Kindergarten Picture

 

D. Danz & Sons is the company that services our area.  Luckily, I hear they are one of the best available in the prosthetic eye business.  That’s the good news.

The bad news is that the cost for each eye is $4,610.  Yep.  You read it right…  for the pair of shells it will cost a whopping nine thousand two hundred twenty dollars!  $9,220! The worse news is that my insurance will only pay $1,000 total.

I really don’t know how we’re ever going to pay for it.  NOT getting them is not an option, though.  sigh.  I never thought I’d need to worry about things like this since I have very good insurance through work.  It’s funny how you don’t realize just how difficult medical (and insurance) issues are until there is a problem…

I did get a point in the right direction from our Pediatrician.  They told me about a local organization called Jack’s Helping Hand.  I had heard about them before because they have a toy lending library for special needs kids.  What I didn’t know is that they have a program to help with medical/lodging/travel costs not covered by insurance.  I just need to hurry up and do the paperwork since Danny’s appointment is February 19th.

Please put in some prayer time asking that Jack’s Helping Hand accepts our request.  I honestly don’t know how we’ll cover the costs if they don’t.  Perhaps  we’ll do some sort of fund-raiser.

Anyway… that’s my big worry these days.  Not as big or bad as it could be.  Not so different from anyone else.  Just money.  Just with a little twist…

5 Responses

  1. *sigh* Insurance companies.Why in the world would they not cover prosthetic eyes? It makes no sense.

    Praying hard it all works out for Danny!

    • They cover them. Just not very much. Most people would only need a single eye. Looking at it that way they’re covering nearly about 20%. And in most cases, one could make a case for it being for aesthetic purposes only.

      In Danny’s case, however, it’s medically necessary. I’ll try working that angle too. Maybe we can get more coverage…

  2. Hey Stell, I was thinking Jack’s Helping Hand would be a good resource before I got to that part of your blog! Try them. You might also want to try the Elks. Maybe between the two a big chunk can be taken care of? Keep me posted and I’ll keep brainstorming.

  3. Stella,

    Now I am scared…I thought that the big bad expensive ones were only the ones that had 50 layers of paint to make a pretty eye..I do know that they you can get them in clear. Not as attractive but I think maybe cheaper. I will check my links and let you know. My other concern is that they are only good for about 6 months. This really isn’t fair. Why wouldn’t insurance cover this…without it his eye sockets won’t grow properly…I am really worried because all of these things are right around the corner for me…the good part is that you will have figured this out and passed along lots of helpful hints before i get there.

Leave a Reply

